When someone says, “who’s for ice cream?”, we’re first in line (in fact, we bring a bowl wherever we go). But, for people who need or want to follow a gluten-free diet, it can be a bit of a tricky question as to whether they can eat it at all. We know, life’s not fair.
If you’ve ever found yourself asking “does ice cream have gluten in it?”, we’ve got good news. You just need to know what you’re looking out for to make sure.
There are all kinds of ice cream flavours that are safe to enjoy if you’re on a gluten-free diet. You just need to have your wits about you when you’re down the shops and always read the label before you tuck into your favourite ice cream.
As a rule of thumb, the simpler the ice cream, the less likely it is to contain gluten. So, if a good ol’ scoop of vanilla or strawberry ice cream is right up your freezer aisle or you’re a bit of a chocoholic, then you should be fine, just check the label.
Steering clear of gluten get trickier with more complicated ice creams. For example, products that include baked ingredients such as brownies or cones can be a massive red flag. Plus, the word ‘gluten’ isn’t always written on the label. Instead, you have to keep a beady eye out for ingredients that contain gluten including wheat, rye, oats and barley. If a product contains any of these ingredients they’ll be written in bold or capital letters to signify that it is an allergenic ingredient.
However, there are a couple of ways you can guarantee your ice cream is gluten-free. Next time you’re choosing a Wall’s Ice Cream, look out for our Solero Exotic, Twister Pineapple and Calippo Orange. Because we’re happy to say that they’re all certified gluten-free and ready to go. Check all of our gluten-free ice creams here. You can also look out for the gluten-free logo on our ice cream menus if you’re not sure.
So, if you’re on a gluten-free diet, we’ve got your back. We believe everyone should be able to enjoy ice cream, no matter what.